Station Profile

Phalaborwa Community Radio Station is based at Namakgale township at 1318/19 Old municipal offices Corner Rivonia & Impala Street in Phalaborwa under the Ba-Phalaborwa Municipality in Limpopo. It has been broadcasting on and off on monthly event licences from 2004 until 2007 September, when ICASA granted a permanent broadcast licence. The station is situated in Namakgale township, 20 minutes drive from the world renowned Kruger National Park.
It has a transmission radius of 100 kilometres. The broadcast languages are predominantly Xitsonga, Sotho and English. The station targets all age groups as its listenership. As Phalaborwa FM, we entertain, inform and educate towards development of the coverage areas. Although our broadcast footprint is 100 kilometres, we are able reach areas as far as Acornhoek, Lekgalameetse in Trichatsdal, Hoedspruit, Bon Village, Mariveni A and B and other eastern parts of Giyane.


To be the voice of Ba Phalaborwa communities, providing, accurate, valuable and developmental information to the communities we serve..


We strive to facilitate effective community development through a communication forum that disseminates information on issues that will help improve the quality of life of Ba Phalaborwa.


As a community project, the station is owned and controlled by the community of the broader Ba Phalaborwa municipality. This is done through a community elected Board of Trustees which is representative of the general community and inclusive of all government stakeholders, NGOs, Community Based Organizations, and faith based structures, The Board is made up of people who are involved in existing community projects in the region, and other sectors within Ba Phalaborwa communities.


The station has a fulltime Management team which comprises of Station Manager, Programmes Manager, Marketing Manager, Finance & Administration Officer and staff complement of 26, which is comprised of News Readers, Journalists, Presenters and Producers.


Our programming format is 60% Talk and 40% music.


The station broadcast in the following communities within Ba Phalaborwa communities:
Makhushane, Mashishimale, Maseke, Majeje, Lulekani, Schiettocht, Kruger National Park, Phalaborwa, Hoedspruit, The Willows, Dzumeri (Giyani) and The Trichartsdal, Sofaya, Madeira, Gravellote, Acornhoek, Nkowankowa, North Eastern Parts of Tzaneen, Letsitele.


We broadcast from 05h00 until 23h00, seven days a week, although we continue to broadcast after 23H00, though we only compile music, adverts, public service announcements and station promos after 23H00.


• Community Sound Broadcasting.
• Radio Airtime Sales.
• Outside Broadcasts.
• Brand Activation Campaigns.
• Sound Hire for Corporate Events.
• Radio Production Facilities.
• Recording Studio Hire.


Peri Urban and Rural areas.